Day Nine – 30 Days of Creativity 2012

Today’s theme was ‘water’. I ummed and aahed about what to do for this one, thinking perhaps I could do some photography (we’re surrounded by lakes and canals where I live – and lots of rain at the moment!). But then I thought, ‘it doesn’t have to be liquid water, does it?’

I’ve got pretty much every ice cube ‘tray’ that Ikea make, so I decided to try a little experiment. In my flower tray, I put small amounts of orange juice in the bottom of each flower with a pipette, so as to form a yellow-orange flower centre. I put the tray into the freezer for an hour or so, then added some fruit squash (though fruit juice would probably work). Unfortunately I was a bit slow on some of them and the flower centres popped out of the ice cube tray and floated to the top! A great demonstration of physical chemistry but not very good for making accurate flowers. I hurried the last few and put the tray back into the freezer. Turning them out once they’d frozen, I was happy to see that four of them had worked, and I’ve learnt to be a bit quicker with the squash/juice in future. Added to water, they looked very pretty and added a mild flavour. Perhaps full-strength fruit juice would work better than squash that’s already been diluted… I might buy some and give it a try!

The ones that went wrong

The flower ice cube tray

Pretty drink

Becky

One response to “Day Nine – 30 Days of Creativity 2012

  1. These are really pretty! I hadn’t thought of mixing juices and colours in ice trays – now I can see the appeal of the different shapes!

Leave a Reply

