Day Three – 30 Days of Creativity 2012

You might notice that so far I’ve pretty much followed the inspiration calendar provided by the 30 Days of Creativity crew… well, today’s no exception. The theme was ‘corn’ as in ‘sweetcorn’, which gave me an instant craving for these sweetcorn fritters, which I’ve made many times before. Not particularly ‘creative’ in the popular sense of the word, but as I ‘created’ them from raw ingredients, I like to think that this counts as creativity:

Sweetcorn fritters

75g rice flour/ground rice
50g plain flour
1/4 tsp baking powder
1/2 tsp salt
1 egg
1tsp lemon juice
~350g tinned sweetcorn, drained
1 tsp dried coriander
1 tsp dried cumin
pinch turmeric

Sift the dry ingredients together into a bowl. Add the egg, 120ml water and lemon juice. Mix to a smooth batter. Add the sweetcorn. Fry tablespoon sized dollops of the mixture in a little sunflower oil until lightly browned on both sides. Drain on kitchen towel, and then serve, with sweet chilli dipping sauce if you’re feeling adventurous! I’ve also made this recipe with just rice flour ( 125g instead of 75g) and no wheat flour, as a gluten-free version.

In the same ‘corn’ theme, I could also have gone with this rather more-ish Sainsbury’s recipe for cheese and sweetcorn cupcakes (less weird than they sound), but given that I ate all 12 of them last time I made them, I decided it wasn’t such a good idea!

Cheddar and Sweetcorn Cupcakes

small tin of sweetcorn (approx 200g)
190g self-raising flour
55g Cheddar cheese, grated
pinch paprika
pinch thyme (or 1 1/2 tbsp fresh leaves)
1/2 tsp baking powder
55g butter, chilled
2 medium eggs
120ml semi-skimmed milk

– Preheat the oven to 200C/fan 180C/gas 6. Line a 12-hole cupcake tin with paper cases

– In a large bowl, mix the flour, 40g Cheddar, paprika, thyme, sweetcorn and baking powder. Grate in the butter and mix well with a butter knife.

– In a jug, beat the eggs and milk together until combined. Pour into the flour and cheese mixture and stir well. Spoon into the cupcake cases and sprinkle over the remaining 15g cheese and a little extra paprika. Bake in the oven for 20 minutes, until golden.

Becky

One response to “Day Three – 30 Days of Creativity 2012

  1. That’s funny, as I was reading about the growing popularity of sweetcorn in sweet foods – I guess the clue is in the name! I think I’d be more tempted by the cupcakes – although I’d definitely try eating the fritters!

Leave a Reply

