Day Two – 30 Days of Creativity 2012

Today’s 30 Days of Creativity theme was ‘Fire’. I struggled a bit with this one, but soon hit upon the idea of using tealights and attempting the popular shaped bokeh effect with my camera. It’s a pretty straightforward technique (as detailed here). I cut a little heart out of some black paper, and then stuck the paper over the end of my lens and attempted some tealight bokeh (sounds dangerous, eh?!). I was having no luck whatsoever and returned, disheartened, to my laptop to read up more on the technique. I suddenly realised that all of the tutorials were calling for f1.8 (a technical term I won’t bore you with the details of – unless you’re a photographer, in which case you know what it means) but alas! my lens only goes down to f3.5. This is the best I managed with my not-quite-up-to-the-job lens:

After my bokeh fail I decided to be satisfied with some tealight art in the style of my houseplant art, so here you go:

Hopefully I’ll be able to invest in a couple more lenses and/or a ‘better’ camera at some point, then I can indulge in bokeh to my heart’s content!

What would you like to acquire in order to try a new technique – perhaps a kiln, sewing machine or even just the knowledge of how to do something?

Becky

3 responses to “Day Two – 30 Days of Creativity 2012

  1. Beautiful images. I’d like to wake up knowing how to use my sewing machine, plus a kiln. I’ve the fondest memories of clay at school, and air drying is not the same. Oh, and lino cutting equipment, but that’s also a blast from the past as opposed to something new!

  2. Pingback: 30 Days of Creativity – A Review | Becky Button

Leave a Reply

