Adventures in baking: Millionaire’s Shortbread

Millionaire's Shortbread

Once again, I’ve been trying out my baking skills for my willing taste testers. This time it’s the marvel that is Millionaire’s Shortbread, a classic British favourite consisting of layers of shortbread, caramel and chocolate. It looks like it’d be complicated to make, but although it was a bit time consuming, most of the time was spent just waiting for the separate layers to cool down. I had about five recipes in my recipe folder for this (and could have found many other versions online), so I’ve combined them into my own new recipe.

Ingredients
Shortbread:
250g plain flour
80g golden caster sugar
175g butter, cubed (I used salted for that hint of salt-caramel flavour)
1/2 tsp vanilla extract
Topping:
100g butter
100g brown sugar (I used light brown soft sugar)
2 tbsp golden syrup
1 x 397g tin condensed milk
200g milk or plain chocolate, broken into small pieces

Preheat the oven to 180C. Rub in the butter into the flour until the mixture resembles breadcrumbs (this bit can be done in a food processor or mixer but I prefer the hands on approach). Add sugar and vanilla extract. Form into a dough and knead lightly on a floured surface. The mixture might seem quite crumbly to start off with but just keep at it and it will all work out OK!

Press the dough into an approx 23 x 20cm baking tin that has been lined with baking paper. Bake for about 25 minutes, then remove and allow to cool.

Whilst the base is cooling you can make the caramel. Melt the butter in a pan, then add the brown sugar, golden syrup and condensed milk. Mix well, then allow to bubble gently, stirring often. After about ten minutes the mixture will have noticeably darkened and thickened and at this point you can try what is known in expert confectionery circles as the ‘soft ball test’ which basically involves dropping small amounts of the caramel into a glass of cold water to see if the drops form into soft balls. If they do, the caramel is ready; if not, give it a little longer then try again. Once the caramel is ready, remove from the heat and pour over your shortbread base. Leave to cool.

Once it’s set, melt the chocolate, either slowly and carefully in the microwave or over a pan of simmering water, and pour it over the caramel layer. Put the shortbread in the fridge for a few hours until the chocolate has set, then remove and cut into squares or slices. Serve, to much “mmmm”-ing from your friends, family and colleagues!

Millionaire's Shortbread

I hope you enjoy the recipe – any suggestions or problems, let me know.

Becky

11 responses to “Adventures in baking: Millionaire’s Shortbread

  1. THIS LOOKS AMAAAAAZING! I love millionaires shortbread. Thank you for sharing your recipe – Will have to try! 😀

  2. My caramel went a bit soft and fudgey – grainy rather than smooth. Did I heat too long/not enough/too high?

    • Hi Crystal, thank you for your comment… I’ll have to experiment with this a bit myself but I think that by the sound of it, it could perhaps have done with a slightly higher heat, and maybe a little longer on the heat. I will try out some different things and let you know what I conclude! 🙂

  3. Just finished these having followed your recipe. They are delish!!!
    Thank you…

  4. Mine also went super grainy and actually separated. I used another recipe though (I stumbled upon yours when I tried to find out why I’d made such a mess), which said to just throw everything in the pan and boil it for ten minutes- obviously, I should have melted the butter beforehand and used lower heat! Will be back on your blog for more accurate recipes 😉

    • Thank you for your comment! I hope that if/when you give my recipe a go that the caramel works better than the above attempt 😦

      I have actually made this a couple of times since I posted this recipe up, and each time the caramel seems to be getting better and better (probably because I’m getting more practised). I’ll try to work out what I’m doing to improve it and edit the recipe! Mostly I think it’s to do with heating the mix for longer to really bring out the caramel taste of the condensed milk 🙂

  5. Hi just one question… do I have to use sweetened or plain condensed milk? I only have sweetened one… it says it has 54% saccharose, if I have to use the plain one how can I sort this out? thanks 😀

    • oh… can I use maple syrup instead of the golden syrup? thanks

      • Hi Dario, In response to your questions, I use whichever condensed milk I can get my hands on in the supermarket! I shop at Sainsbury’s and a quick search of their website shows that all their condensed milk is sweetened. I don’t think that the plain unsweetened version would work since the aim is to caramelise it, and there is probably insufficient lactose in it for this to work.

        Maple syrup could work in place of golden syrup … try it and let me know! I’ve just had a quick look on Wikipedia at the science behind the two syrups: maple syrup is mostly sucrose whereas golden syrup is fructose and glucose (the components of sucrose). I don’t know how different their behaviours would be without reading up on the chemistry of it all, I’m afraid!

Leave a Reply

