Spoilers

I’ve been thinking lately about a certain habit that I am trying to break. Basically, I like to be informed. If I’m going anywhere or doing anything, I plan weeks in advance, if I can, and find out the who, what, where, when, why and how as much as possible. This is all very laudable (and not least because I’m usually the only one who knows what’s going on) but by the time said trip or event actually happens, it’s almost a bit of an anticlimax. I know exactly what to expect and unless there’s a big change of plan it all becomes a bit boring.

I used to do the same thing with films. I can remember, back in my short-lived Ringer phase, devouring anything and everything to do with the first film such that, by the time I actually saw it in the cinema, I’d seen most of the film already! What a disappointment. I decided that for the next two films I would try to avoid anything to do with them, and it made viewing them a lot more interesting. I continued to do the same thing with films for a long time but recently I’ve found myself creeping back into the old habit. Or reading too much about a film or TV show such that it’s ‘spoiled’ – like knowing the twist in The Sixth Sense before you watch it for the first time! There’s no initial shock or disbelief or simple laughter at an unexpected twist.

I’m going to try hard to only watch short trailers of films I’m interested in seeing, let someone else sort out the where-why-when etc of stuff where possible, and occasionally just go with the flow or do something spontaneous! Sounds like this could be another New Year’s Resolution to be added to the list…

Have you ever overindulged on ‘spoilers’?

Becky

4 responses to “Spoilers

  1. I found this post really interesting! I have come to realise over recent years that I like to plan, I like to know when I’m seeing people, and to have an idea of where to go and what to do. I get anxious about missing appointments or cinema start times or trains – and for me it’s the clock-watching for the “fixed-time elements” that can spoil a cup of coffee or a nice meal.

    I’m very similar to you with film and tv plots – I’m also terrible for knowing how long there is left of a film, and people have complained in the past because I’ve inadvertently given away that the ending is imminent. I like your take on it, and perhaps this is something I should try as well 🙂

    • That’s exactly what I do! I get jumpy about getting to trains or films or meals on time too.

      Interestingly, at that wedding I went to the other weekend, I had no idea what was happening when, but my mother did and I let her deal with it all. It was strangely liberating to give up control of the weekend’s activities to someone else (though of course I could trust her as she’s my mother!). And the other week I met up with a friend but didn’t know where I was meeting them until the actual day, so instead of panicking or worrying about it, I just decided to ‘go with the flow’ and relax a little for once, and it was all fine 🙂

  2. Pingback: Happy Christmas! | Becky Button

  3. Pingback: 2012 New Year’s Resolutions | Becky Button

Leave a Reply

