When I grow up…

…I want to be a genetic scientist. Or a footwear technologist. Or a craft designer.

Well, OK, that’s what the teenage me would have said. Pretty random selection of career choices there, huh? I’ve not really gone anywhere near the first two, but I think I’m currently something of a ‘craft designer’ so all is not lost!

I only remembered the genetic scientist thing the other day, and decided to ask my Twitter friends what they wanted to be when they were teenagers. With answers ranging from being a builder to a teacher to a corner shop owner, it was really interesting to hear why those particular professions had been chosen. I don’t think any of the people who responded are actually doing now what they wanted to do back then, but I guess the thing to remember is that it is never too late. Even if you have no idea what you want or wanted to do as a grown-up, there’s potential there to do amazing things. I refer you once again to the Sunscreen Song:

Don’t feel guilty if you don’t know what you want to do with your life
Some of the most interesting people I know didn’t know, at 22, what they wanted to do with their lives
Some of the most interesting 40-year-olds I know still don’t

My brother wanted to be a rock star, a commercial pilot or a Formula 1 driver. Ambitious, much?!

What did you want to be?

Becky

2 responses to “When I grow up…

  1. I never knew what I wanted to do, ever! I still don’t. Sad huh? I was never good with academic subjects at school, managed to get an A in music (my highest gcse) but couldn’t read music at all so that really confused me! I just stuck with what I enjoyed (art) and managed to get a few qualifications on my quest to try to find myself. Think I’m getting there! 🙂

  2. Having said that, I’ve just remembered – I did want to be a contortionist, since I had an obsession with dislocating my shoulders.. But I decided against that for one reason or another! 🙂

Leave a Reply

