Do one thing, every day, that scares you

I had to give a little presentation at work today to half a dozen of my colleagues. Normally such a prospect would have filled me with fear, but since this amazing presentation, and the lessons I learned from it, I find I’m no longer so nervous. However, my assembled workmates were a little fearful, and not because of my presenting skills, but because of the subject matter. It was that big scary thing called ‘Microsoft Excel’…..mwahahaha!

Though they know the basics, I’ve been trying to persuade them that things such as formulae and conditional formatting can help them out and save them time on a daily basis. But such things seem scary when one doesn’t really know what one is doing, so my job with the mini-presentation was to calm their fears and make them realise that nothing bad is going to happen if, for instance, they get a formula wrong.

It put me in mind of one of my favourite songs – ‘Everybody’s Free (To Wear Sunscreen)’. I try to follow the guidance in the song (which is actually based on this newspaper column) in my everyday life, and today made me think of this line:

Do one thing every day that scares you.

I try to get out of my comfort zone whenever possible, and if something seems a little nervewracking or scary, I use this line to reassure myself. It’s kind of like that infamous soft drink tagline, ‘what’s the worst that could happen?’

This part of the song has come in handy recently too, for a number of reasons:

Understand that friends come and go, but with a precious few you should hold on. Work hard to bridge the gaps in geography and lifestyle

I could go on, but I’d be here all day, quoting bits of it. I know it’s a bit of a love-it-or-hate-it song, so for those who love it: enjoy!

Becky

2 responses to “Do one thing, every day, that scares you

  1. I love that song too! Important messages, indeed. I can remember my first, very painful presentation, when I vowed “never again”. I’m way past that now, and usually enjoy presenting these days – but I think it is an activity which really frightens a lot of people. Doing something scary can be really challenging – especially because you’ve got to get through the terror before you get the feel-good factor, but that feel-good factor is immense. We’re so tough on ourselves in life, it is great when you can just relish the feeling of “I did it!” whether it be facing the dentist, or abseiling down a cliff. Great post Becky!

  2. Pingback: Day Seven – 30 Days of Creativity 2012 | Becky Button

Leave a Reply

