Self assembly

Recently, I’ve noticed an increase in the number of crafty kits and workshops that are available. I can think of a couple of places off the top of my head whose basic raison d’être is to offer classes and workshops in various craft-related skills (The Make Lounge and The Makery) and several other shops that offer workshops as a sort of extra to help people get to grips with sewing/jewellery making/knitting etc.

I imagine that most of the appeal of going to a workshop, or buying something in kit form, comes down to a) people wanting to try a new skill without having to buy all the materials and equipment, only to find they don’t like it and b) getting that feeling of satisfaction from having made something, without jumping in at the deep end and having to work it all out oneself.

I personally like the idea of little kits. I’ve spotted some great ones on Etsy, including this constellation embroidery kit, a kit containing everything you’d need to cross stitch a rooster, terrarium kits, even an anatomical heart needle felting kit. Buttons and threadI’d like to make some of my own to sell in my Etsy shop, but I’m a bit stuck on what kind of kit to make. What button-related craft would you buy in kit form? I’ve had a few ideas:

– simplified button bracelets (or earrings) in kit form
– ‘pick your own’ laser cut jewellery to assemble yourself
– something to sew together
– button/embroidery kits including a hoop

Any suggestions gratefully received!

Becky

One response to “Self assembly

  1. I love craft kits! I’ve always liked it because they contain all you need, and they’re often a cheap way of trying out crafts. Plus there are always leftovers, which add to your crafty stocks.
    Could you do stretchy button bracelets too? I really like all of the ideas you have there, they are all types of kit which would appeal to me.

Leave a Reply

