Wish Lists

At the risk of incurring the wrath of those who believe the C-word* shouldn’t be mentioned before December I’d like to discuss wish lists.

As it’s now approaching that festive sort of season where giving and receiving presents is traditional, I’ve started to think about what I’d like to put on my Christmas wish list. As a family, we generally do the wish list thing because we’re all a bit difficult to buy for, and at least if you’ve bought something from someone’s list you know they’re going to want/like/need it. Some might say that it removes the surprise element of the present(s) but I’d much rather have unsurprising presents that I actually want than surprise presents that are totally unsuitable. In fact, in a moment of spectacular control freakery this summer I actually told each member of my family exactly what they could get me for my birthday, where to get it from and how much it cost (I’d like to point out that they asked me what I wanted, I wasn’t just demanding presents!).

A lot of people have online wish lists on Wists, Amazon, Pinterest or even Etsy. My Etsy favourites are 29 pages long, and although I’ve favourited some of those items for inspiration instead of actually wanting them, that still works out at almost 700 items that someone would have to wade through, if I hadn’t mentioned something specific. And if your present-givers don’t go online then they’ll never know about all the things you’ve ‘liked’. Maybe leaving a single item’s web page open on one’s tablet computer is the modern equivalent of leaving a catalogue open on the right page with the item circled?

Do you ‘do’ wish lists or do you prefer to wing it and have the surprise element?

Becky

*I mean ‘Christmas’, obviously

3 responses to “Wish Lists

  1. Wishlists are a bit too direct for a lot of people. I think they’re fine – your family must all be smiling away when they open their presents 😉
    My next sister up can almost unfailingly buy me something which I completely adore, I’d never want to do a list with her. My oldest sister can almost unfailingly buy me something I’m really not keen on (I expect that works both ways) – if we’re being sensible we do a list! I’d far rather people be up front about what they want – the only thing I’m not keen on (unless it’s really going to make a difference) is giving/receiving money.
    My boyfriend and I do present lists, and it’s still possible to have a surprise element – once when I wanted books (I love buying books), instead of buying me books he bought me a big book token so I could relish the luxury of “money to burn” in the bookshop! I was pleased with that, by the way!

  2. I like a bit of both, knowing what someone wants is enormously helpful because I hate wasting money (particularly if the recipient is a non-exchanger) but I do like to hold some money back for a bit of I-saw-this-and-thought-of-you.

  3. Pingback: Happy Christmas! | Becky Button

Leave a Reply

