NaNoWriMo – Or, how slow and steady wins the race

I recently heard about NaNoWriMo (also known as National Novel Writing Month) on the WordPress blog. The idea of NaNoWriMo is for aspiring writers and novelists to write a novel in a month. The suggested output is 1,667 words a day, making a 50,000 word story when the thirty days are up. 1,667 words a day doesn’t seem like that many (at least not compared to 50,000) and it’s an interesting way of breaking down a potentially daunting project into manageable bite-size chunks.

I’d like to say at this point that I won’t be writing a novel in November, mostly because I’m a bit of a perfectionist and would need my first attempt at a book to be as good as the brilliant writing of my favourite authors, and, let’s face it, that’s just not going to happen. However I will be trying to write a blog post a day, either on a subject that’s topical in my world, or something inspired by the very helpful Daily Post blog from WordPress, which suggests a daily topic for bloggers to write about.

I like the idea of breaking a large and scary project down into smaller, friendlier segments. The most inspiring example that comes to mind is Major Phil Packer’s completion of the London Marathon over 14 days in 2009. There’s a scary project if ever there was one! Does anyone have any other good examples?

As someone who always leaves things until the last minute, I think I am going to make one of my 2012 New Year’s Resolutions something like ‘I will start a project as soon as I know about it and continue to work on it at a steady rate, instead of knowing about it for six months beforehand and starting it on the very last day’. Not particularly succint, but hey, I’ve got a couple of months to refine it.

As for last year’s NYRs, having broken pi down into sections of five digits, and learnt them one by one, I’m happy to report that I have now memorised it to 50 decimal places:

3.14159 26535 89793 23846 26433 83279 50288 41971 69399 37510

Now I know you could just assume that I copied and pasted that from Wikipedia but I promise that I have just sat here and typed that from memory. What a geek I am!

Becky

2 responses to “NaNoWriMo – Or, how slow and steady wins the race

  1. I’m just as bad for leaving things to the last minute – sometimes I try to get on board with things earlier and it doesn’t flow, so I wonder if the urgency triggers something.

    I like the idea of breaking things down – so many crafting projects require that, whether it be for the glue or paint to dry or because you’re doing something in bulk. There is something very satisfying about ticking off the stages….

    Good luck with the posts!

  2. Pingback: 2012 New Year’s Resolutions | Becky Button

Leave a Reply

