Button Wednesday: Chocolate buttons, with a difference

I stumble across button-related items all over the place, but I found the particular item I’d like to talk about today linked as part of a blog post from the excellent moo.com on self-promotion. While the ‘button candy’ featured in the main part of the post looks pretty cool, I fell in love with the ooh-shiny candy buttons in the ‘creating button candy‘ link and decided I must make some!

Bake It Pretty Candy Buttons
Bake It Pretty Candy Buttons

 Trouble was, the site the button moulds were featured on was based in the USA and the postage was prohibitive. So I set out on a mission to find a UK stockist and stumbled across Cakes, Cookies and Crafts where the postage is much more reasonable. It’s surprisingly easy to whip up your own batch of chocolate-y button goodness (as evidenced by my blurrily photographed attempt here). I’d like to work out some interesting things to do with them (as opposed to just stuffing my face with them in a sugar-induced frenzy). I think they’d make good cupcake or fairy cake toppers, or even sprinkles for ice cream sundaes. Any suggestions?

Buttons + chocolate = amazingness!

Disclaimer: Neither moo.com nor Cakes, Cookies and Crafts have asked me to big them up, I just felt like it 🙂

2 responses to “Button Wednesday: Chocolate buttons, with a difference

  1. Oooohhhh omnomnom!! I remember you mentioning these when we went to montezumas!! Yours look great! 😀 REAL choccie buttons! Are they White choc? My faaave (aswell as dark & milk…) MUST HAVE!

  2. These are actually ‘candy melts’ which are kind of like white chocolate buttons but without the cocoa butter and with lots of additives and colourings! I’m going to try with proper chocolate at some point (I have some minty dark chocolate in the fridge waiting for me to use it) – I’ll need to stock up on Monty’s buttons again first! 🙂

Leave a Reply

