2013 – Year in Review

It’s that time of year again, to mull over what has happened in the last 365 days and look forward to what might occur in the next 365. In 2013, amongst other things, I:

- Somehow gained a Distinction in my latest (now discontinued) OU course: T211 Design and Designing
– Started supplying rowing-themed button badges to Rock the Boat
– Made an unexpected wedding cake for my friend’s wedding
– Celebrated my one year rowing anniversary
– Watched Luisa Omielan’s comedy show What Would Beyoncé Do?
– Had a ‘Health MOT’ and passed with flying colours
– Started a challenging and interesting new job
– Watched The Leisure Society live (again!)
– Won my first race final at a rowing regatta
– Had a Hawaiian-themed joint birthday party for my 30th
– Watched my friend’s long awaited, much anticipated and
very funny debut film ‘Dead Cat’
– Moved house
– Did a screenprinting workshop at Print Club London

As usual, at the start of the year, I decided on my New Year’s Resolutions. This year’s were intended to be more about ‘doing’ and less about ‘thinking’, though I could not have foreseen that a combination of rowing and studying would take over my life for nine or ten months of this year, leaving me little time for anything else (including writing blog posts)!

1) Make marshmallows, macarons and madeleines.
I managed to make marshmallows (and very tasty they were too), and some madeleines for my friend Madeleine’s birthday (though I didn’t get to try them). I’ve not quite got around to making macarons, though having not ever actually tried one I might find that I don’t like them after all! I was tempted by the make-your-own-macarons kits that I spotted in Sainsbury’s the other week, but alas the raspberry ones contain cochineal (off-limits to vegetarians) and the chocolate ones are out too because I don’t like chocolate. So this might be a longer term project. Perhaps I’ll take a class in how to make macarons, because by all accounts they can be tricky little so-and-sos!

2) Make fewer excuses.
This was the obligatory ‘floaty’ resolution but one I’ve been meaning to do for a number of years. I’ve had a tendency to blame stuff on things that are outside my control or that I could change if I really wanted to. Working on making less excuses (both spoken and in my head) has actually resulted in a lot of inner peace this year. I’ve learnt to change things and to just get on with life without coming up with feeble reasons not to do things. Hurrah!

3) Work on becoming very healthy and fit.
This was all to do with rowing, which I think I was a bit cagey about at the start of the year when I wrote about this resolution. Suffice it to say, a year’s worth of rowing training has done wonders for my fitness and figure; I actually have definition in my bicep, calf, stomach and thigh muscles for the first time in my life. The being healthy bit is going to need some work into next year though, as I rely far too much on carbs and dairy products to keep me going, and need to try to get more protein and good stuff into my diet.

4) Make my own clothes (or modify more).
I still have a pile of ‘to do’ projects in my craft room but didn’t really have any time to do them. This year, instead of making and modifying, I made a point of seeking out small boutique shops (such as my current favourite, Aspire Style), clothing brands that I know work with my figure, and investing in higher quality items that are properly tailored and will last a long time. My shape changed so much from all the exercise that I had to donate two thirds of my wardrobe to the local Oxfam charity shop (resulting in an amazing Tag Your Bag total) so really I have had to start again from scratch. I also bought my first pair of skinny jeans this year, a lovely high-waisted stretchy version that actually fits! Only a decade after everyone else started wearing them…

5) Do a photography project.
This went right out the window when the aforementioned epic rowing-and-study combo kicked in. I managed a few weeks (six, to be precise) but I think that I may have fallen out of love with my camera. Perhaps one of my 2014 NYRs should be to save up for a new one?

Did you make any resolutions for 2013, and if so how did they go?

Becky

One response to “2013 – Year in Review

  1. You’ve had such a busy year! I’m excited to have been a part of it, and I think you should be proud of the wedding cake (I may be a tad biased!).

    I started this year thinking it was just something to get through, but I can look back and say I’ve climbed a few health hills, had a brilliant wedding, and got myself a new job.

    You also did a great project for your birthday – catching up with people in different places.

Leave a Reply

