Adventures in Baking: An unexpected wedding cake

My lovely friend Sarah (a prolific commenter on these pages) got married to her Lovely Man recently, and asked me to make a cake for the post-ceremony tea-and-cake gathering. I actually made a selection, including marshmallow rice crispy cakes, my famous banana bread, and a popular sticky sugary lemon drizzle traybake.

However the piece de resistance was the ‘wedding cake’ (there was a ‘proper’ iced fruit cake too). Sarah basically gave me free rein to do what I liked! I enjoy surprising people and incorporating as many little things that I know they’ll like into whatever I’m making for them. With that in mind, I sent off a quick questionnaire to Sarah and her fiancé with questions like, ‘what is your favourite colour?’, ‘what are your favourite sweets?’, ‘what is your favourite type of cake?’.

Eventually I came up with this. It was inspired by the pink rainbow cake I made a while back, raspberri cupcakes’ pink and white layered sprinkle cake and about a hundred different ‘piñata’ cakes (particularly this rainbow one and this sophisticated blue one from Betty Crocker). I put all of the couple’s favourite sweets on the inside, and added sprinkles in their favourite colours (blue and green) to their favourite kind of icing (buttercream). Then I topped it with a custom laser cut topper made of mirror acrylic inspired by their favourite song!

You are shining light

sarahwedding%20034

From the outside of course it just looked like a normal, if very tall, speckly cake, so people were amazed when it was cut open to reveal pick’n’mix sweets. Now that the secret’s out, I’m going to have to think of other surprises to hide inside cakes!

Becky

One response to “Adventures in Baking: An unexpected wedding cake

  1. It really was a super cake, and such a surprise – not just because of the inside! Everyone loved it – it seems that a cake full of sweets is exciting, no matter what age you are!

    Thank you so much, my lovely friend – I knew you’d do a brilliant job, but I wasn’t expecting that, or for you to bring even more cake along. You thought of everything – right down to the laser cut wording being ready to turn into a necklace. Brilliant!

Leave a Reply

