Day One – 30 Days of Creativity 2012

Today’s theme on the 30 Days of Creativity Inspiration Calendar is ‘Friday’.

Where to start with an inspirational theme of a day of the week? Something Rebecca Black-related? Something literal?

Soon ‘that Friday feeling’ popped into my head and I was transported back to my childhood:

So, on a slight tangent from the original inspiration, I decided to make homemade Crunchie bars – ie. cinder toffee/sponge toffee/honeycomb/hokey pokey/whatever else you care to call it, covered in milk chocolate.

A quick search of the internet and flick through various books revealed a wide variation in recipes for honeycomb, some very much more complicated than others! I decided to keep it simple and went with this recipe from The Guardian which also explains the science (‘and magic’) behind making it. I overcooked my first attempt and ended up with a burnt-tasting sticky mass, then tried again (the quantities of ingredients required for this are so small that it’s not a big deal to have a few attempts). Second time, I managed not to burn the mixture. A taste test revealed a lovely honeycomb with a light texture and just a hint of caramel. I broke it into shards which I then dipped in melted chocolate and left to set in the fridge.

Took the results into work today and they were *very* well received. The chocolate-coated honeycomb was generally considered to taste almost exactly like actual Crunchie bars, praise indeed!

Which ads made a lasting impression on you as a child?

Becky

3 responses to “Day One – 30 Days of Creativity 2012

  1. What a great start! I’ve been tempted to make this Friday-treat myself in the past – looks so lovely maybe I will make some :)

  2. Pingback: Day Twenty Three – 30 Days of Creativity 2012 | Becky Button

  3. Pingback: 30 Days of Creativity – A Review | Becky Button

Leave a Reply

